BRICS Summit from today: PM Modi, Chinese President Xi Jinping to come face-to-face virtually again

BRICS Summit, PM Modi,  Chinese President Xi Jinping,

PM Modi, Chinese President Xi Jinping to come face-to-face virtually again at BRICS Summit.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend the 12th BRICS Summit on Tuesday, where he will once again share a platform with Chinese President Xi Jinping. PM Modi and Jinping had earlier on November 10 shared a virtual platform at the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Summit. BRICS is a grouping of five countries — Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa. Besides Modi and Jinping, the three heads who will attend the summit include Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro, Russian President Vladimir Putin, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa.
The bloc represents over 3.6 billion people, or half the world’s population. The BRICS countries have a combined GDP of USD 16.6 trillion.
This year’s summit is hosted by Russia under the theme of ‘Global Stability, Shared Security and Innovative Growth’. The leaders of the five nations will have a focus on cooperation in counter-terrorism, trade, health, energy and ways to offset impact of the coronavirus pandemic.
Respect sovereignty, territorial integrity: PM Modi’s stern message to China, Pakistan
“At the invitation of President Putin, Prime Minister Narendra Modi are going to be attending the 12th BRICS Summit hosted by Russia, under the theme ‘Global Stability, Shared Security and Innovative Growth’ on November 17,” the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) said during a statement.
The summit is taking place at a time when India and China are locked in a bitter border standoff in eastern Ladakh. Soldiers of the 2 Asian giants are locked in an impasse for the last six months.
At the SCO summit held on November 10, PM Modi had said that all member nations should respect each others’ sovereignty and territorial integrity. “India believes that to reinforce connectivity, it’s important that we move forward by following the core principle of respecting each other’s sovereignty and territorial integrity,” he had said. The SCO currently comprises eight nations — China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.
India are going to be taking up the chair of the BRICS, which might be the third BRICS Presidency for India since its inception in 2009. India hosted the summit in 2012 and 2016.
India planning BRICS Games during Khelo India Games next year.

MD Foorqan

Motivational speaker, Storyteller, Content creator.Founder of KUMFOO MOTIVATION.  

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.